Home About Us Curriculum & Learning

Nursery School Curriculum

We are legally required to work with the Early Years Foundation Stage framework, which supports children’s learning and development and welfare. Learning and development is divided into 3 Prime areas of learning and 4 Specific areas. These are listed below with some examples of what this looks like at our nursery school.

Prime Learning Areas

1 Personal, Social and Emotional Development: You might see a group of children sitting in a circle with an adult exchanging news from home.

2 Communication and Language: You might see a group of children listening to a story.

3 Physical development: You might see children jumping off our climbing wall and landing safely.

Specific Learning Areas

1 Literacy: You might see children writing down a message during role play.

2 Mathematics: You might see children weighing out ingredients for making flapjacks.

3 Understanding the World: You might see children observing and talking about the eggs that we hatch in Spring.

4 Expressive Arts and Design: You might see children constructing a den.

Connect with Us

Local Authority Nursery School